Help with Concord grape vine

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello,
I'm new to gardening and new to the site. So I apologize ahead of time if I ask something that has already been mentioned here. I performed some research before reaching out but I cant seem to find the answers I need.

Last year in the spring I purchased a 1 year old concord grape vine. I planted it setup a trellis and it took off growing great. I was told not to expect fruit the first year which was fine. The vine looked wicked healthy and never showed signs of it being unhealthy. I live in Zone 5a and the temperatures last year were simply out of control. Days on end well below zero. it was much colder than an average winter.

However, we got a really warm and early spring. Within a week or so of the warm weather I saw my grape vine come back to life. It lasted for about a week everything looked healthy. I had full size leaves returning and everything. Then Memorial day weekend we got a wicked cold snap and I was out of town so I couldn't cover it up.

When i got back all the green leaves were brown and I thought for sure it was dead. I left it for a couple weeks and discovered that it had started to grow again but it looks like its growing from the root stock. If that is the case will the plant ever produce fruit? The plant itself looks amazing but i have not seen any fruit what so ever on this tree and I figured by this time it would have had at-least something.

Any input would be much appreciated. I'm 28 years old and this is the first thing I have ever really tried to grow so this is completely new territory to me.
Thanks
(PS I can provide pictures if needed)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello,
I'm new to gardening and new to the site. So I apologize ahead of time if I ask something that has already been mentioned here. I performed some research before reaching out but I cant seem to find the answers I need.