Help with Bougainvillea query

Reaction score
Country
Saint Kitts And Nevis
Hi - new to this forum, so hope I am in the correct subject field.

I have just taken on the management of the development where I live in the Caribbean. We are having some issues between homeowners and the landscapers regarding the bougainvillea we have that are not being looked after properly. I am no expert and would appreciate expert guidance on care of them.

The specific problem is where the bougainvillea appears half dead on one side. The landscaper is telling me that this is not dead just dormant and is protecting the rest of the plant. The homeowners want them removed and new ones put in as they are unsightly. I can post pics if that helps.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Pictures would certainly help. IMO you have a bunch of lazy landscapers who don't have a clue. Half a plant going dormant? Don't think so. I think what the problem is besides being lazy and ignorant is that they don't want to mess around getting scratched by thorns.
Prune all of the dead and sick looking limbs severely, run off the "landscapers" and either do the work yourselves or contract some people who know what they are doing

Reaction score
Country
Saint Kitts And Nevis
Hi Chuck….thanks for your quick reply. I have uploaded some examples for you so you can see what i am talking about. I have received complaints that basically they are not trimmed or pruned correctly. Also they are let to grow as you should see in the pic 837, and then heavily hacked back - not generally trimmed and kept on top of as people expect. Would appreciate your thoughts.

Attachments

• 20160528_090652.jpg
    20160528_090652.jpg
    226.7 KB · Views: 335
  • 20160528_090755.jpg
    20160528_090755.jpg
    204.5 KB · Views: 344
  • 20160528_090810.jpg
    20160528_090810.jpg
    125.1 KB · Views: 376
  • 20160528_090837.jpg
    20160528_090837.jpg
    147 KB · Views: 349
  • 20160528_090746.jpg