Help - Weed membrane or not under turf?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I've got very little gardening experience so thought I'd reach out here for some advice.

To give my issue a bit of background.

I have a lawn area of approx 5.4m x 11m so 60m2. This had been neglected for some time and had several varieties weeds growing including horsetail, nettles, thistles etc. Last year I tried to kill off all the weeds using glyphosate but they kept coming back. In September I made the decision to completely cover the lawn area to starve it of light and I've now reached the stage where I would like to buy some turf and try to lay a new lawn.

My plan was to buy some plantex weed control fabric and put that down, then use about 8 tonnes of topsoil to raise the height of the lawn by 3-4 inches before laying some turf.

I've read various people say that using the fabric isn't necessary and may hinder the lawn knitting together/growing at all. I just want to do all I can to prevent the weeds (especially the horsetail) from coming back.

Any advice gratefully received.

Logan

Logan
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
1a
Country
United Kingdom
Hello and welcome to GF
Never use a membrane under turf, people just don't do it. It's meant to put under a gravel path or driveway. It won't be good for the turf at all.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I agree with @Logan - don`t put this under your lawn. The one thing you MUST put first at this stage is dealing with the perennial weeds - especially the horsetail, which is notoriously difficult to control and will probably need constant applications of glyphosate over the course of a year or more before you get rid of it completely.
I believe it`s best to let it grow if the rhizomes are still there and active and crush the leaves - trample on it and then apply the glyphosate. Repeat until you are successful - a long slog, but worth it.