Help! New Gardener FAILING BAD!

Reaction score
Help! I am new to gardening. I recently planted a few plants on my patio to liven up my new place. While some are doing great, others are not. I've watered daily and they get plenty of sun. What can I do?

See for yourself.

Also if anyone can figure out the flower type I'd appreciate it.
IMG_0057.jpg
IMG_8127.jpg
IMG_2331.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Reaction score
Hi Shaybay - Firstly your plants look very much like Zinnias to me and secondly I think as you are watering them every day - as Chuck has just mentioned - you are watering them way too much - especially as no plant needs to be watered everyday - as its best to at least allow the surface soil to dry out a bit between watering.

The other problem that I think you may have - is that either you are watering your plants from above so that the foliage is getting wet - rather than the soil around the base of the plant or that perhaps you don't have enough drainage holes in the bottom of your containers for the excess water to drain away - which as Zinnias need good drainage in order to thrive - may also explain why they are looking like they do.

However for the moment I think that the best thing to do - would be to allow the soil to dry out before watering again and to remove all the spent flower heads and decaying foliage - in the hope that will help them to recover :)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Hello and welcome aboard!

Excellent advice from Chuck and gata montes (y)

Reaction score