Help! I have a couple questions.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello,

This is my first year gardening, so I am just getting to know how to take care of things. I raised 2 tomato plants from seed indoors and have now planted them into containers outside after hardening them off. They have been outside for a couple weeks and doing ok. But, I did plant them into a Miracle Gro organic potting soil that had compost in it. But about a week later I used a fish hydrolysate fertilizer and did a foliar feeding. I am wondering if I completely messed up as far as over fertilizing them and caused nitrogen burn.

Below are pictures of the leafs and what they look like now. Also I have a Serrano pepper plant that has leafs that are looking like this after the foliar spray also.

Questions are,

1. Should I have not fertilized them because I put them in soil that had compost in it?
2. Is this Nitrogen burn or something else? (Because this didn't start until after I did the foliar spray).
3. Is this reversible if it is nitrogen burn?

Thank you.

Fawaz Nassri

rn.
20200412_123217-jpg.63099
20200412_123254.jpg

Attachments

• 20200412_123217.jpg
    20200412_123217.jpg
    128.9 KB · Views: 317
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
It could be fertilizer burn although normally it also shows on the leaf tips. If it is fertilizer burn the plant will probably grow through it. Tomatoes like it on the dry side, in just barely moist soils. Foliar feed them in the AM hours. Do not foliar feed them if wilted or in the PM heat. What time of day did you foliar feed and with what fertilizer?

Reaction score
Country
United States