Help - cucumber plant only has female flowers

Reaction score
Country
Belgium
Hi all,

Just looking for some advice and help. I am new to gardening and planted my first cucumber plants (f1 picolini). They are still inside due to the awful May weather (live in Belgium). But all 3 of the plants only have female flowers, about 20 of them with many more growing, but no male at all. I thought it was a hybrid, however the ones at the bottom that flowered first are now dying, which makes me think they do need the male flower. Not sure what I should do now. Any advice appreciated.

Attachments

• 20210524_110046.jpg
    20210524_110046.jpg
    264.2 KB · Views: 251
  • 20210524_110113.jpg
    20210524_110113.jpg
    126.6 KB · Views: 323
  • 20210524_110123.jpg
    20210524_110123.jpg
    189 KB · Views: 152
  • 20210524_110129.jpg
    20210524_110129.jpg
    166.4 KB · Views: 239
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hi all,

Just looking for some advice and help. I am new to gardening and planted my first cucumber plants (f1 picolini). They are still inside due to the awful May weather (live in Belgium). But all 3 of the plants only have female flowers, about 20 of them with many more growing, but no male at all. I thought it was a hybrid, however the ones at the bottom that flowered first are now dying, which makes me think they do need the male flower. Not sure what I should do now. Any advice appreciated.
Nothing unusual about this. You have a Gynoecious type of cucumber which has only female flowers. But, you must have another plant, one which has male flowers, planted close by. The following link should be of great interest.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United Kingdom
I grow all-female varieties which need no male flowers, in fact, if my plants produce them, it is because they are badly stressed, & if they are not removed make my cucumbers bitter.
Check if your variety is "Parthenocarpic".