Help!!! All my bushes are dying!


Joined
May 8, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
United States
Hi everyone! I’m a garden/landscaping newbie here. We moved into our home (Virginia) and pulled out some 30 year old box woods that were starting to brown. We replanted with azaleas, and English boxwoods, as well as some knock out roses. Everything is dying! One thing at a time slowly turns brown and dies. Help! Our gardening center said it was a fungus— but this is my third year to be spraying the same copper fungicide and it seems to be doing nothing! Advice???
 

Attachments

Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Mar 22, 2017
Messages
815
Reaction score
1,086
Location
Womenswold, Kent
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome to the forum @Lucasandster . You must be really fed up with this situation!!
It seems that your land is maybe contaminated with something, and maybe needs to be tested :unsure: ..... the other thought I had was the fact that it looks like you have planted on a fairly steep slope, and maybe the ground has dried out ?
Maybe one of your fellow Americans on these forums will have better ideas?? Perhaps it would help if they knew which area you are in?
Good luck - don't forget to let us know how you get on with this :)
 

zigs

Naughty Cactus Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
8,303
Reaction score
9,354
Location
Womenswold, Kent
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome to the forum :)

It's odd that so many things are dying, think Tetters may be right with a soil problem.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
7,592
Reaction score
3,664
Location
Tarpley Tx
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Fungus doesn't usually attack completely different species of plants at the same time. I think @Tetters is correct, some kind of soil contamination.
 
Joined
May 8, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
United States
I did take a soil sample to the garden center and they gave me an additive because it was too acidic. Every time I dig I find little white grubs— could they be causing this problem??

By the way— I am LOVING your advice!!! Thank you!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
7,592
Reaction score
3,664
Location
Tarpley Tx
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I did take a soil sample to the garden center and they gave me an additive because it was too acidic. Every time I dig I find little white grubs— could they be causing this problem??

By the way— I am LOVING your advice!!! Thank you!
The tests we are talking about a nursery would be clueless about. You don't need to know about soil Ph or which nutrients you may need. You need to find out what chemicals or heavy metals are in the soil.
Have you taken a limb of one of the plants to your soil extension service or state run agricultural dept?
And No, the grubs wouldn't cause this type of damage.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2017
Messages
1,175
Reaction score
1,585
Location
Warrenton North Carolina
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
Start with your county extension agent. They can tell you where to take a soil sample if they are unable to do it themselves. Some questions- how do your neighbors plants look? Was this ground native or was fill brought in when the house was built? Are you watering with well water or central water?

The fact that even the established Boxwoods were failing really worries me. If you are on well water, don’t drink it for now. Get to your county agent today and take one of your dead plants roots and all. If your agent is like ours they will be all over this. I would get on this TODAY! Your problem may be more serious than just dead plants. They just may be the Canary in the coal mine.

 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Mar 22, 2017
Messages
815
Reaction score
1,086
Location
Womenswold, Kent
Country
United Kingdom
@Chuck and @Silentrunning .... thanks for the input. This problem is too difficult to know how to advise from the UK, and your local knowledge was really needed. It seems so important to me that this could be a really serious issue.
@Lucasandster, I think we are all glad you came to the forum. Please keep us in the loop.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top