Help!!! All my bushes are dying!

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi everyone! I’m a garden/landscaping newbie here. We moved into our home (Virginia) and pulled out some 30 year old box woods that were starting to brown. We replanted with azaleas, and English boxwoods, as well as some knock out roses. Everything is dying! One thing at a time slowly turns brown and dies. Help! Our gardening center said it was a fungus— but this is my third year to be spraying the same copper fungicide and it seems to be doing nothing! Advice???

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    240.2 KB · Views: 333
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    117.4 KB · Views: 346
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome to the forum @Lucasandster . You must be really fed up with this situation!!
It seems that your land is maybe contaminated with something, and maybe needs to be tested :unsure: ..... the other thought I had was the fact that it looks like you have planted on a fairly steep slope, and maybe the ground has dried out ?
Maybe one of your fellow Americans on these forums will have better ideas?? Perhaps it would help if they knew which area you are in?
Good luck - don't forget to let us know how you get on with this :)

zigs

Cactus Grower, Kent.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome to the forum :)

It's odd that so many things are dying, think Tetters may be right with a soil problem.

Reaction score
Country
United States
I did take a soil sample to the garden center and they gave me an additive because it was too acidic. Every time I dig I find little white grubs— could they be causing this problem??

By the way— I am LOVING your advice!!! Thank you!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I did take a soil sample to the garden center and they gave me an additive because it was too acidic. Every time I dig I find little white grubs— could they be causing this problem??

By the way— I am LOVING your advice!!! Thank you!