Hello To All!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
Hi!
I discovered this user forum while searching for a particular plant in my yard.
I looked around the forum and learned so much in the time I've spent here so far, I thought it would be fun to join!

I am by no means a gardening expert. I just try my best. Some successes & some failures result, but it is all fun. (And being outside it the best bonus!)

Mostly, we like to leave things as natural as they can be. We do plant some vegetables & annual flowering plants from the previous year's seeds. Some grow & some don't. Some produce fruit or flowers, some don't (It's shady clay-ville here at Green Acres.)

I tried to learn from watching (and pestering) my parents, but as the decades passed, I've forgotten most of it. My Mother was a Master Gardener who was an orchid expert. My father had no training, but could grow a marshmallow on the moon. Everything he touched grew strong and happy!

Thanks To All for having a great forum and for sharing your knowledge and freely giving advice! I am sure many people have learned much here.

Enjoy Today!
Paul

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome Paul.

Our friends here have varying experience and even the most knowledgeable have failures, that's what gardening is all about and we learn along the way, it's an endless subject. With your parents having a green thumb hopefully genetics will have passed that on to you. :)

zigs

Cactus Grower, Kent.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome to the forum :)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
Thanks Sheal & Zigs!
I'm not sure about the Green Thumb genetics passing down. Mine's more of a light teal (so far, anyway). In the 40 or so years that I was working full time, I averaged 70 hours, plus per week. I did very little gardening. So the Green Thumb gene was dormant. Hopefully it'll wake up eventually! Gardening sure is peaceful.