Hello plant lovers!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I am a newbie to forums. I have always found answers to gardening woes on forums so never really needed to post anything. However, i have come unstuck with a particular plant that has decided to grow next to my fence. I am totally flummoxed by this plant and I would very much appreciate any help at all in identifying it so I can determine whether it's to keep or not to keep!

Thank all in advance...Lisa

Attachments

• 20210613_133434.jpg
    20210613_133434.jpg
    143 KB · Views: 53
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
It`s nice that you decided to join us Lisa. Welcome :). That has turned up in our garden recently too, and it is one of the figwort family. Whatever you decide I will warn you that it seeds like mad. We have planted some in our wildflower area and will see how it behaves there.

zigs

Cactus Grower, Kent.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome to the forum :)

Yep, same as our Figwort. Usually grows by rivers but it's chosen to grow in the driest bit of Kent that it can find here :D

zigs

Cactus Grower, Kent.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Our pleasure :)

Just had a look, I took a shot of one of ours a few days ago, not flowering yet.

DSC05287_LI.jpg

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I was going to say 'Figwort' from the flower but was going to check the leaf, then I saw the other posts. Attractive to wasps, not to the point it is a problem, but curious, you don't usually see wasps visiting flowers.

zigs

Cactus Grower, Kent.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
I was going to say 'Figwort' from the flower but was going to check the leaf, then I saw the other posts. Attractive to wasps, not to the point it is a problem, but curious, you don't usually see wasps visiting flowers.