Hello From Ireland (Cork City)

Reaction score
Country
Ireland
I'm a complete amateur where gardening is concerned! I'm more a tech guy but I love the idea of having a nice garden especially a colourful one with nice trees and flowers etc.

Thing is I'm getting more interested every year and would love to start planting soon.

Can anyone help me, I basically want to grow my own stuff from trees to plants to flowers, instead of buying the finished article st expensive garden centres I want to start from scratch and grow my own.

Can I but seeds for the trees I want? I know I can with flowers. But not sure where to buy online.

I can't afford to but trees and plant I want to buy the seeds and start from there. Is there some way I can just snip a piece of a tree from my parents garden and plant that or how does it work? As in can you take a piece from a tree or plant and just grow as my own?

How is this done?

Thanks for any help or info ye can provide me.

Regards,
C.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
11b
Country
Brazil
Welcome, edam4!

As for your questions I can not answer most of them, but I am sure there are many people here that is able to help you. But growing trees from seed will take some time.

I do not know how is it there, but you can buy baby trees for a low cost here (most under $15). Of course, it depends what kind of tree you want.

As in can you take a piece from a tree or plant and just grow as my own?
I believe that is possible, but you have to do it properly I think. I do not know how to do it.

Thank you for joining!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Hello and welcome to the forum! :)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
USDA Zone 11
Country
Mexico
:)A warm welcome to you @edam4 Growing from seed can be such a rewarding experience. Actually i prefer it because if you want to go organic you can be assured that your trees or plants have not been treated with pesticides or insectcides. There is a vendor in the UK at