Hate to ask...What tree is this?

litwardle

Rookie gardener, Devon, UK
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10a
Country
United Kingdom
Moving Into a new property next week..any ideas what tree this is? Some kind of elm? Previous occupants used it to house a washing line (which I will remove)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Doesn't look like an elm to me...Can you post close-up photos of the bark and emerging leaves?

litwardle

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10a
Country
United Kingdom
He Beth, this is the best I can do at the moment as we're not in there until next week. Silver Birch poss??

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
I'm not a tree expert...But the birches on this side of the pond tend to have a single straight trunk that branches out higher up. Same with elms, plus elms have sort of heavy striated bark.

I'm stumped! Hopefully someone more knowledgeable, or more familiar with your native trees, will have a better guess.

litwardle

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10a
Country
United Kingdom
Thank you for giving it some thought:) it looks a bit sad at the moment, I was hoping to find out how to nurture it a little! :)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Do you have a garden center, or (the equivalent of) our state Master Gardener program, or even a commercial tree service you can show those photos to?

When the weather warms up and it starts leafing out it'll probably be much easier to identify. :)

litwardle

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10a
Country
United Kingdom
We have garden centres, I work along side our local one in my job (nothing to do with gardens I hasten to add) I'll have a chat with someone.

I will certainly add some better photos when we move in though :)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Well do post when you get a positive ID! I googled some with no luck but now I'm curious!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
4 to 5 best for success.
Country
United States