Gulf Muhly and Dwarf Bottle Brushes

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
I'm not sure if this is in the right area, as I'm new to gardening, but find myself enjoying landscaping and the designing thereof. So this is essentially a bit of an intro post as I am new here.

My family purchased a house in northern San Antonio a little over 7 years back, and we inherited a nightmare of a landscape that we've been slowly redoing ourselves.

Among various items that need to be addressed with the yard, I've got four tall mulch beds that have pretty much become bare due to the planted vegetation dying off and the deer destroying whatever they could.

I've begun looking for hardy plants, as well as native plants to resist drought, deer, cold, etc.

Recently, I purchased some Dwarf Bottle Brushes (these will bloom red) and several Gulf Muhly (Muhlenbergia Capillaris, I believe) plants. I've planted them in various areas, ensuring proper drainage for both. Soil composition seems to vary from dry dirt to clay.

Now, the issue I've noticed is that some of the Muhly are doing fine, and others have completely turned yellow with no signs of renewed growth; my bottle brushes have also begun to shed leaves (these are small right now, less than 1' in height) and yellow as well. I know both do not like wet soil, so I've kept watering to a minimum as clay may retain excess moisture.

I also made sure when planting them to allow them to sit a little higher above the ground to allow excess water to drain away. I should also mention that I made sure to spread out the cramped root balls for all of them, especially the bottle brushes to encourage spreading.

I can post a photo of the various plants in question if it'll help to assess how they've been planted and if I need to make any changes.

Thanks in advance!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Since pictures are worth more than words, these photos should shed some light on what I'm working with: