Growing Vegetables on my Roof

Reaction score
Country
United States
I have been thinking about growing vegetables on the roof of my townhouse for quite some time now. I have recently finished reading two excellent digital books on Amazon; “How to grow potatoes” by R. Ruppenthal, and “The rooftop garden, how to build an urban farm” by K. Forrest. The second book in particular caught my attention with a detail discussion on hydroponics. I have no experience with this particular form of gardening but from what I read it sounds like this might be a good way to approach starting to grow vegetables on my roof. If any of you have any experience with this I would love to hear from you.

Thanks

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
I don't have a rooftop for growing, but I have grown a variety of garden plants in pots (last year was kale, green beans, edible pod peas, tomatoes and a large variety of ornamentals). My theory is anything can be grown in a pot of sufficient size.

What I do not know about is how weight will impact your growing area. Your growing area needs to be structurally able to deal with the weight of planters with significant poundage. Just the vines and beans from my runner beans was pretty heavy and when well watered unmoveable. Every gallon of water weighs 8 pounds. I often checked for watering requirements by the weight of the pots for when greens covered the dirt.

Like I said weight from planters can be significant.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United Kingdom
Jewell is right to point out the possible problems, but there are ways and means around them.
Organic gardening does not necessarily have to entail digging in a barrowload of compost psqm every year, and it's possible with a number of shallow-rooted fruits and veg, and a strict watering regime, to limit the weight of your garden.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
Canada