growing vegetables and herbs indoors?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I would like to grow vegetables year round indoors - but I am a complete beginner at this, and I am wondering just how difficult it is to do.

I have two grow lights which I use successfully to grow microgreens. Microgreens seem very easy to grow indoors - I never have any problems. But there are a few other plants I would like to grow indoors - lettuce, spinach, kale, swiss chard, hot peppers.

Right now I have the Vogek LED tri-head full spectrum growing light. This light says it is 72 watts total, 24W each lamp .I also have a hanging light; this is the description for it: " Full Spectrum Plant Light - equipped with 75 High-power LED chips:47 Red 19Blue 3UV 3IR 3White.NOTE :The UV and IR LEDs are particularly DIM,but it is normal.PANEL SIZE: 12.2 * 4.7 *1.2 inches "

These seem to work fine for my microgreens, but are they strong enough for vegetables or do I need to invest in a more advanced system?

My first experiment after microgreesn was to try growing leaf lettuce and kale under the Vogek light, as I read these are fairly easy to grow indoors. I have seen a number of videos by people growing lettuce successfully indoors. But the lettuce under my light was not growing, instead each day I saw leaves drooping and withering, or turning yellow with brown spots. I did not suspect my light was the problem, I thought it might be a bacterial problem or something like that. So I called the nursery to ask what the problem might be and the person there told me you can't grow lettuce indoors, it needs to be outdoors and the problem was my lettuce wasn't getting sun. So now I'm not sure what to think! As for the kale plant, it has done fine; it isn't exactly flourishing but it does look healthy enough with new leaves slowly emerging.

Thanks for your help and guidance.

Reaction score
Country
United States