Growing 3 types of basil

Reaction score
Hello, I'm a chef who love to make asian food. but becuase of corona and living a bit outside the city makes it hard to get enough Basil for my food i enjoy to eat, so i though about growing it myself. i have searched on internet and youtube for tutorials so i think i have understand it, but i have a question about my setup.

Would this setup work to grow, i have a reflector, where would it be best to place this so the light gets better for the plants? The plant on the side a mint plant from the store.

i dont have much plant skills, but should i remove the dirt for each basil seedling/stem that grows after a week and put them in a seperate pot or can i just leave them together in a pot and let it grow?

i wanted to plant it outside but i think im a bit late, the weather where i live is not good and its just rain and rain so growing outside is not a option atm.

EDIT: The basil planted are:

Ocimum tenuifolium

Ocimum basilicum

Ocimum americanum

Attachments

• IMG_1979.JPG
    IMG_1979.JPG
    111.2 KB · Views: 190
Reaction score
The normal store basil i started a week ago looks like this, should i replant those into a smaller pot one by one?

Attachments

• 296a50163bd4a356f0edbe18a9fc282b.png
    296a50163bd4a356f0edbe18a9fc282b.png
    85.7 KB · Views: 125
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
You need much more light. Your plants are all very leggy which means that they are trying to reach more light.

Reaction score
You need much more light. Your plants are all very leggy which means that they are trying to reach more light.
They used to stand in my window in the start which could be the reason. then i put them into those aquariums yesterday. there was not enough sun in the window. But what if i replant those into smaller pots and put them a little bit deeper into the dirt?

What if i put some planks under the pot to make the plant get closer to the lamp?

Reaction score