Greetings from new South African Member

Reaction score
Hello all my fellow gardeners. I an happy to have found this forum so quick. I have recently come back to South Africa and I want to start building my dream garden. Any help will be appreciated. Thank you all in advance. :)

Jed

Reaction score
Welcome Simon. I'm sure you will get some good advise. Unfortunately I am no expert on lawns and avocados as two of you threads have asked help for. But I do enjoy eating avocados.:)

Reaction score
I am in Port Elizabeth. Avos in Pretoria? I thought Jacarandas were the only trees Pretorians could plant. Just kidding. Welcome!

dim

Reaction score
I am in Port Elizabeth. Avos in Pretoria? I thought Jacarandas were the only trees Pretorians could plant. Just kidding. Welcome!

pretoria is good .... hot summers, good summer rainfall, and mild winters ... you can plant just about anything there ... according to the USDA zones, pretoria is zone 10a

and it depends what sort of garden you are after .... if you go for tropicals (palms, ferns, tree ferns, tetrapanex rex, ricinus, etc etc you will have a really good garden and will be able to grow most things)

plant some fragrant shrubs/plants/creepers inbetween and as for fruit and veg, you can grow loads

build a polytunnel, and you can grow summer veg during winter

the problem you may find is that garden centres there don't stock much of what you may need .... and if you do buy online/import, it may go missing 'during transit' (many workers at the post offices in south africa have 'long fingers')

I used to live in JHB for over 30 years, but sadly, I was never much into gardening

Reaction score
pretoria is good .... hot summers, good summer rainfall, and mild winters ... you can plant just about anything there ... according to the USDA zones, pretoria is zone 10a