Gopher Plant unknown parasite?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I’m really new to gardening. I’ve had this gopher plant for a few months, probably since October or November. Ever since I’ve had it I’ve been noticing these white speckles develop and start spreading. I’ve tried searching on the internet but I can’t find anything that looks similar, except maybe powdery mildew? I cut off one of the “heads” that was nearly dead and covered with white spots because I didn’t want it to spread, but unfortunately it has, and now covers almost the entire plant. Does anyone have any idea what this could be, and if it’s possible to get rid of? Thank you so much <3

Attachments

• 92954DDA-99F0-4CBE-9908-495565EB4CE7.jpeg
    92954DDA-99F0-4CBE-9908-495565EB4CE7.jpeg
    151.6 KB · Views: 34
Reaction score
Country
United States
Greetings, welcome to the Forums.

The plant pictured is Upright Myrtle Spurge (Euphorbia rigida), native to parts of the Mediterranean Basin. It may also be called 'Gopher Plant', though that common name is more usually associated with Euphorbia lathyris.

As for the white bumps on the plant, they might be a type of scale insect, but this is not clear. They could also be some type edema or exudate from the plant. Use a wooden toothpick or similar to gently scrape one off. Does it appear to be a small, soft insect with a harder outer casing, or is it more like a wart or dried fluid on the stem? Use a hand-lens if one is available.
The photo you posted is not at all bad, but if possible, try to take a zoomed-in macro shot of the white bumps. Some cameras are capable of this. You may need to brace the camera or use a stand. to get a clear shot.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Country
United States
Greetings, welcome to the Forums.

The plant pictured is Upright Myrtle Spurge (Euphorbia rigida), native to parts of the Mediterranean Basin. It may also be called 'Gopher Plant', though that common name is more usually associated with Euphorbia lathyris.