Florida Gardeners - I need help...

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9or10
Country
United States
So I am a novice at this whole gardening thing and nobody I know does it really so I need some help. I made a garden last year in a "Garden Tower" and everything seemed to sprout from seed ok, but I overcrowded the container and nothing grew very large.

This year I made a 11'x5' garden bed squared off for the SqFt Garden method and had everything planned out perfect. Only one issue I can't get anything to sprout hardly.

I've planted: Mesculin lettuce, broccoli, bunching onions, brussel sprouts, sugar peas, arugula a few types of lettuce and kale.

The only things I've been able to sprout from seed are: Butterhead Speckled Lettuce, finger carrots and kale.

The butterhead lettuce sprouted in my indoor seed pod container, need to transfer them soon. Nothing else will sprout in the indoor container. The kale and carrots were directly sown in the outdoor garden.

What am I doing wrong? What should I try to plant? Is it just too hot still for some of these things?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
So I am a novice at this whole gardening thing and nobody I know does it really so I need some help. I made a garden last year in a "Garden Tower" and everything seemed to sprout from seed ok, but I overcrowded the container and nothing grew very large.

This year I made a 11'x5' garden bed squared off for the SqFt Garden method and had everything planned out perfect. Only one issue I can't get anything to sprout hardly.

I've planted: Mesculin lettuce, broccoli, bunching onions, brussel sprouts, sugar peas, arugula a few types of lettuce and kale.

The only things I've been able to sprout from seed are: Butterhead Speckled Lettuce, finger carrots and kale.

The butterhead lettuce sprouted in my indoor seed pod container, need to transfer them soon. Nothing else will sprout in the indoor container. The kale and carrots were directly sown in the outdoor garden.