Fixing Phosphorous Depletion In Raised Beds

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Hi folks. I'm looking for some advice. I have four large redwood containers that I've been using for about 5 years to grow vegetables. They are 8'X4' feet and 2' high.

The nitrogen is fine and the potassium is in surplus, but all three beds are completely lacking in phosphorous. I tried last year to add dry fertilizers to the soil--I think I tried bat guano, blood meal, and "super phosphate" but I don't know that it made much of a difference. Perhaps it was enough to help my plants limp along. I saw a HUGE drop in plant productivity, particularly in beans and tomatoes.

Anyway, I want to fix this problem, but am not sure how to go about it. Because these are raised bed (I have a vole problem) the soil doesn't renew like it would if I were planting directly into the ground, and it can be frustrating. I have a cover crop on my beds now, and I plan to add fertilizers in the spring. What would you recommend for phosphorous?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hi folks. I'm looking for some advice. I have four large redwood containers that I've been using for about 5 years to grow vegetables. They are 8'X4' feet and 2' high.

The nitrogen is fine and the potassium is in surplus, but all three beds are completely lacking in phosphorous. I tried last year to add dry fertilizers to the soil--I think I tried bat guano, blood meal, and "super phosphate" but I don't know that it made much of a difference. Perhaps it was enough to help my plants limp along. I saw a HUGE drop in plant productivity, particularly in beans and tomatoes.