First-time potatoe grower questions

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello,

This is my first post. I've been gardening for 10 years. Each year I try to grow something different.

This year it's potatoes. I've planted red & white potatoes in 2 raised beds & 1 tower. They're growing great, but I have some questions:
  1. I've read that once tubers get so long I should "Hill" them. I already did that once in the beds, but I'm leery of digging up more soil from the bed for the hilling. Can I just use straw for hilling or does it HAVE to be soil?
  2. The tower is exploding. Tubers everywhere. There's no way to Hill those. Will the fact they're exposed to the sun make the potatoes inedible?
  3. How do I know when they're ready for harvesting?
I've attached a pic of one of the beds and the tower.

Thank you in advance for any help

Zvonko

Attachments

• 20200601_090307.jpg
    20200601_090307.jpg
    470.6 KB · Views: 187
  • 20200601_082159.jpg
    20200601_082159.jpg
    394.5 KB · Views: 126

Meadowlark

No N-P-K Required
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
old zone 8b/new zone 9a
Country
United States
Greetings. You will get more informed answers to your questions if you include your growing zone information.

1. Soil is preferable but straw will help if no soil. The new potato grows above the seed potato and the hilling is required to protect the new potato from direct sunlight.
2. New potatoes exposed to the sun will generally turn green showing chlorophyll which must be removed prior to consumption.
3. Depending on your location, when the tops fall over the spuds are finished growing.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Thanks Meadowlark.

I'm in zone 6a.

I'll look to find more soil to keep hilling. How high do those get?

What about the tower? Can't think of any way to shield the tubers M sun.

Meadowlark

No N-P-K Required
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
old zone 8b/new zone 9a
Country
United States
Zvonko,