First time basil, did I prune this right?

Reaction score
Country
United States
This is my first time doing any kind of gardening. Did I cut this basil correctly or will I need to restart them? Also, how long will it take for it to grow back out and become a bigger plant again?

Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_20160608_103009.jpg
    IMG_20160608_103009.jpg
    148.1 KB · Views: 710
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Looks fine to me. Too little to prune....I grow basil every year and pinch off the higher leaves and flowers as they're happening (and eat them!) :)

Let that baby grow, and pinch off the tall leaves and flowers, that will encourage more bushy growth.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Awesome! What do you mean by the "tall leaves"? Do yyou have a picture so I don't accidently cut the wrong thing?

Thanks

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Well there's really no need to prune basil. But if you want it bushy with lots of tasty fresh leaves, whenever you want to use some, pinch off the tips of the tallest part of the plant. And when it gets real big (you should say where you live, because that's relevant to growing stuff) ;) then pinch off the flower spikes before they blossom. Your basil, like most plants, will direct growing energy to flowers at the expense of leaf growth.

Here's a sweet basil this morning, sharing a pot with mint. Just planted two weeks ago from a starter plant. It's low and bushy which is what you want. Last night I pinched off the two tallest stalks and leaves to put in some pasta. One or two basil plants will give me fresh basil for cooking from now until Sept-Oct
20160608_070829.jpg
, our typical first frost here.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States