Fig Tree - yellow brown leaves

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Hi everyone, I am an extremely amateur gardener. I have a potted black Spanish fig tree that is two years old. I live in the Watsonville, CA area. The tree gets morning lights and the afternoon is shaded. I had it somewhere with full light but then the leaves started to turn brown so I thought maybe it was too hot. The leaves continued to turn brown/yellow. I water it a few times a week. Thank you so much for your help!

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    312.2 KB · Views: 32
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    237.2 KB · Views: 38
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    237.1 KB · Views: 38
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    219.6 KB · Views: 41
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome to the forum @hlancaster :)
Figs will have yellow/brown leaves when the plant is stressed. Generally the tree likes best to be in a sunny place. Brown on the leaves often shows signs that the plant is overwatered.
This tree would probably be better if it is re potted into a pot that is slightly bigger, and thereafter increase the size of the pot about once in every two years - each time just increasing the size by a little.
Make sure your plant is in very well draining soil/compost and give it a nice bright sunny place. Water well when it is really dry about once a week, but always check that it is actually dry.
If you raise the pot onto bricks or blocks of some kind it will help it to drain properly. Good luck.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Thank you Tetters for your help. Ok in that case I’ll get it back into full sun. I was worried that the browning was the leaves burning as the sun can be quite strong here in California in the summer time. The outside temperature is pretty mild though, usually does not exceed 80.