Fertilizer and compost in potting mix? General advice also welcome!

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am new to vegetable gardening and am planning out my summer garden. I live in an apartment, so I'll be using containers for everything on the patio. I wanted to get some advice on if I can/should add fertilizer AND compost to potting mix (in small amounts) or just one of those things.

I haven't bought compost or soil yet, but a friend gave me some dry fertilizer. They gave me Sustaine (NPK ratios 4 6 4) and a bag of Sea - 90, which seems to be mostly trace minerals. I'll be using smart pots for most of the plants, except for the salad greens, which will be in plastic rectangular pots. Watering will be done using terracotta watering stakes + a water bottle reservoir.

I live in zone 8a and plan to grow tomatoes, basil, bell peppers, cucumber, sweet alyssum, french marigolds, borage, cilantro (Eryngium foetidum), purslane, and a culinary strain of dandelion greens. Any advice is welcome!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I am new to vegetable gardening and am planning out my summer garden. I live in an apartment, so I'll be using containers for everything on the patio. I wanted to get some advice on if I can/should add fertilizer AND compost to potting mix (in small amounts) or just one of those things.

I haven't bought compost or soil yet, but a friend gave me some dry fertilizer. They gave me Sustaine (NPK ratios 4 6 4) and a bag of Sea - 90, which seems to be mostly trace minerals. I'll be using smart pots for most of the plants, except for the salad greens, which will be in plastic rectangular pots. Watering will be done using terracotta watering stakes + a water bottle reservoir.

I live in zone 8a and plan to grow tomatoes, basil, bell peppers, cucumber, sweet alyssum, french marigolds, borage, cilantro (Eryngium foetidum), purslane, and a culinary strain of dandelion greens. Any advice is welcome!