Fava beans

Reaction score
Country
United States
I started several fava bean plants this year, I am only a beginner at this point. I wanted to ask if the leaves in the picture I attached are supposed to be black around the edges. Other than that the plant is healthy and green. Thank you for your help.
-newtogardening

Attachments

• IMG_5938.JPG
    IMG_5938.JPG
    111.3 KB · Views: 225
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Is it growing indoors or out? And where in the US are you?

Looks like some sort of mold or fungus, which is usually due to getting too much water too often, high humidity, or tainted soil.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Is it growing indoors or out? And where in the US are you?

Looks like some sort of mold or fungus, which is usually due to getting too much water too often, high humidity, or tainted soil.

Hello Beth,
Thank you for your reply. This is growing outdoors and it is located in Tennessee. The soil is a mix called fox farm and the plants are growing in buckets. I have watered too often and too much. What would be a good way to combat the fungus and could you recommended a watering schedule? Thank you again.
-newtogardening

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Oh boy, I'm not enough of an expert to recommend a fix, not even knowing what sort of fungus that is (or even if it is fungus.) Hopefully someone with more knowledge will have suggestions.

Don't feel bad for over-watering, it's the number one most common mistake new gardeners make! Generally with most plants, letting the soil dry between deep waterings is best. I just did a quick Google on fava beans, according to one site they do better in the ground than in containers. I'd imagine at least a five-gallon container would be optimal. I've done tomatoes and string beans in five gallon buckets (make sure there are plenty of holes drilled for drainage) and they've done ok.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
3a
Country
Canada
Some speculations.