Exactly when to water Tomato Transplants?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
I'm new to tomato growing. I've read that you don't want to water too much. I currently have a few I've started from seed in 6" pots waiting for transplant into the fall green house. When looking at the pot, the top inch or so is very dry. But below that, the moisture levels are very sufficient (both observation and the meter indicate this). There is yellowing on some leaves which looks like over watering to me. But with the very dry top inch of mix, is it time to water? Should I only water enough to moisten the top inch of the mix? I'm in Oklahoma and using a basic potting mix.

Thank you!

John

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United Kingdom
Not yet time to water.
Tomatoes have tap roots which means they'll cope.
Also, light water stress makes the plants more resilient, and encourages them to fruit earlier.

Welcome.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I'm new to tomato growing. I've read that you don't want to water too much. I currently have a few I've started from seed in 6" pots waiting for transplant into the fall green house. When looking at the pot, the top inch or so is very dry. But below that, the moisture levels are very sufficient (both observation and the meter indicate this). There is yellowing on some leaves which looks like over watering to me. But with the very dry top inch of mix, is it time to water? Should I only water enough to moisten the top inch of the mix? I'm in Oklahoma and using a basic potting mix.

Thank you!

John