end of tomato season?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am a newbie gardener that lives in central Florida. I am told that tomato season is over. What do I do with the current tomato plants I have planted? do I trash them, or leave them in my garden and keep watering them waiting for the next tomato season? thanks!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I am a newbie gardener that lives in central Florida. I am told that tomato season is over. What do I do with the current tomato plants I have planted? do I trash them, or leave them in my garden and keep watering them waiting for the next tomato season? thanks!
Tomato season actually ends when the plants are no longer able to set fruit. Tomatoes, with the exception of cherry varieties will not set fruit when the nighttime low temperature is above 76F. Tomato breeders have been trying forever to breed a tomato that will set in the heat. In your case if the plants are cherry varieties they will still produce or if they aren't cherrys you can try to keep them alive until fall and have a fall crop.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Thank you so much for the info. I clearly have a lot to learn. I have also heard about growing cuttings indoors until the next season to get a headstart instead of starting from seeds. is this accurate?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Thank you so much for the info. I clearly have a lot to learn. I have also heard about growing cuttings indoors until the next season to get a headstart instead of starting from seeds. is this accurate?
You do that now. Take the suckers off and root them now. They will probably be large enough to produce by fall. But you don't do anything now for next years spring garden. It isn't too late now to plant seeds for a fall garden. Isn't your average first frost about mid December?

Reaction score
Country
United States