Easiest herbs to grow?

Reaction score
So I've been wanting to start growing my own herbs for use in my kitchen. Going in to the produce aisle at the local grocery stores gives my credit card a heart attack every time. What are some good, tasty, and flexible herbs I can easily grow? Basil seems like it would be a little tough to do in a window. What do you guys think?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
Poland
In my opinion mint is the easiest herb to grow. It needs some sun and some water, that's it. I've been growing it indoors for a few years now. I love mint tea:)

Reaction score
I agree with Claudine, you should have no troubles growing mint, plus is very easy to propagate! You can also give basil a try... I personally love basil, because I like to add it to some salads and almost to every sauce! But basil is a bit tricky, specially when it comes to propagating, at least it is for me :ROFLMAO:

Reaction score
All herbs are regarded as easy to grow, but would agree with both Claudine and Trellum that all types of mint and basil are probably considered to be the easiest, along with chives, cilantro and parsley, with parsley being a really good choice for indoor growing as it requires a lot less light than some of the other varieties of herbs.

Reaction score
All herbs are regarded as easy to grow, but would agree with both Claudine and Trellum that all types of mint and basil are probably considered to be the easiest, along with chives, cilantro and parsley, with parsley being a really good choice for indoor growing as it requires a lot less light than some of the other varieties of herbs.

Your list sounds like the list that I would consider.
Parsley is at the top of my list, along with cilantro. Mint sounds like a good idea, but i cant think of many recipes that i would use it for.

How about oregano, do you think it would be a good herb to grow? I love oregano.

Reaction score
Your list sounds like the list that I would consider.