Dr. Earth Motherland soil and earwigs

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey everyone, so I’m new to vegetable gardening and I’ve been trying to use Dr. Earth soils since I’m growing organically and all of their products are organic and non GMO. I first started out by using their vegetable planting mix, but haven’t had very good results. Any plants that I transplanted into that soil have been slow growing and several ended up dying, direct sowing into that soil produced no results either. I then tested the pH of the soil with both a soil probe and a soil sample test and both showed the soil to be highly alkaline, which is probably one of the main reasons why I haven’t had very good results with this soil.

I told my local garden store about this, and they said to try and do a 50/50 mix with Dr. Earth Acid Lovers soil to solve that issue. Doing that also didn’t work, the soil tests still came back as highly alkaline. I ended up buying a bag of their Pot of Gold and Motherland soils in order to see what one actually has the best pH, and it turns out the Motherland soil has the best pH rating at 5.5 the Pot of Gold soil also tested at highly alkaline. My question is, has anyone here used their Motherland soil for vegetable gardening? I think its probably the best since its easier to raise the pH of a more acidic soil than it is to lower it in an alkaline soil.