Does anyone here grow rice? If so, tips?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
~12a
Country
Puerto Rico
I'm currently trying to grow some upland/dryland rice plants that I have germinated from seed. As of now, they've done pretty well and are more than a few inches tall. Since I'm an obvious noob, perhaps some rice growers could lend me some tips on how to grow this stuff. I'm really looking forward to having a good harvest one day! :)

Notes:
-Growing 10 individual plants in pretty pathetic soil (basically enriched clay/sand)
-Though it didn't say so on the seed packet, I'm pretty sure that the rice is a "blue bonnet" variety
-Tropical climate for me so winter is basically nonexistent

Rice.PNG
This image kind of sucks, but these are my plants. Since this is an older picture, my rice is a bit larger now.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
USDA Zone 11
Country
Mexico
Greetings TGN and welcome! I have no idea of how to grow rice and don't know anyone who does, but since you did not introduce yourself on the Intro forum, i'll take this opportunity to welcome you, as one tropical gardener to another. What else do you grow in addition to rice?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
~12a
Country
Puerto Rico
Thanks for the rapid responses! Looks like I didn't see the intro forum...oops

Anyways, I currently have a small plot with a cubanelle pepper plant, a passion fruit vine (young, nowhere near setting fruit), a massive eggplant that just doesn't want to set fruit (perhaps I'll try hand-pollination one day), a Mexican lemon tree, and a pigeon pea tree.
I have some lettuce germinating as well. In the future, I'll try planting a field of amaranth and corn.

About the nitrogen advice, thanks. I could probably use the leaves of my pigeon pea tree as a mulch, since they are legumes

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States