DIY Aeration Suggestions

DrMike27

Trust me...I’m a doctor.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Even though spring just started, I feel like it's never too early to get your mind right for your fall lawn. My yard is only 30'x30' which I feel is too small to go rent a large aeration roller (and logistically would be a nightmare to get in and out of my backyard), but I get really lazy and it is exhausting to use a hand tiller to try and aerate the lawn in the fall. Any suggestions on how I could split the difference?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Even though spring just started, I feel like it's never too early to get your mind right for your fall lawn. My yard is only 30'x30' which I feel is too small to go rent a large aeration roller (and logistically would be a nightmare to get in and out of my backyard), but I get really lazy and it is exhausting to use a hand tiller to try and aerate the lawn in the fall. Any suggestions on how I could split the difference?
Why not do it the easy way? Spread about 1/4-1/2 inch of good compost on the grass and then use your hose end sprayer to spray 2 oz of molasses per gallon of water and then water it in good.

DrMike27

Trust me...I’m a doctor.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Compost is an easy add. How do you spread molasses? I feel like that's far too viscous to work (but since Chuck said it, I treat it as a Biblical prophecy).

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Compost is an easy add. How do you spread molasses? I feel like that's far too viscous to work (but since Chuck said it, I treat it as a Biblical prophecy).