Did I overcrowd my broccoli and spinach?


Joined
Apr 7, 2019
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Country
United States
I'm wondering if I overcrowded my brocolli and spinach plants? I got a 6 pack from lowes and put them all in these 15 inch pots. There hasn't been much growth, and I am suspecting maybe I put too many plants in one pot.

If so, how many plants should I have put in a single 15 inch pot?


 
Ad

Advertisements

Meadowlark

Gardner, Angler, Adjunct Professor, and Rancher
Joined
Feb 5, 2019
Messages
794
Reaction score
676
Location
East Texas
Hardiness Zone
8
Country
United States
Yes, IMO way too crowded on the broc. I'd say only one or at most two in that size pot for broc.

The spinach you might be able to get by with three per pot but no more than that.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2013
Messages
3,047
Reaction score
1,291
Location
Port William
Showcase(s):
1
Country
United Kingdom
Spinach will be fine.
In a 15" pot, 1 broccoli or it won't form a head.
Grow the spinach in the shade; the broc will be ok in the sun as long as you keep it watered correctly.
 
Joined
May 7, 2019
Messages
222
Reaction score
44
Location
Timspon, Texas
Hardiness Zone
8
Country
United States
Here in Texas the only time grow cool weather veggies is October-March. But if we get snow, that will harm them. It did my broccoli in a couple of years ago. Since you're in New York, you could probably grow cool veggie things longer than I. As long as the high temp doesn't start reaching 90.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Meadowlark

Gardner, Angler, Adjunct Professor, and Rancher
Joined
Feb 5, 2019
Messages
794
Reaction score
676
Location
East Texas
Hardiness Zone
8
Country
United States
LOL, snow adds to the flavor of broc here in my part of East Texas as long as it isn't accompanied by temps below 20 deg. Agree w/headfullobees
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2013
Messages
3,047
Reaction score
1,291
Location
Port William
Showcase(s):
1
Country
United Kingdom
Brussels sprouts need cold to improve their flavour:
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top