Did I kill my roses by transplanting them?

Reaction score
When my husband and I bought our house it "came with" several gorgeous rose bushes. We have been in the process of moving them to the front of the house where they can be better seen and landscaping around them, however now the roses we have moved aren't blooming, while the ones we left are beautiful! I hope I didn't ruin them by moving them but I'm new to this and now I feel so bad because they were so pretty. Any ideas or are they hopeless? The photos are the difference in the bush I moved and the one I didn't.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    135.8 KB · Views: 414
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    178.7 KB · Views: 442
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
If I were to guess I would say you didn't do them any favors Those are fair sized bushes and they should be transplanted in the winter when they are dormant. With a bush that size it will be difficut to dig up a large enough root ball. Having said that go to your local nursury and get a little bottle of Super Thrive and follow the directions

Reaction score
Cut back the rose bushes fairly aggressively. Leave only a few stalks and only a few leaves. When you transplanted them you probably reduced the roots available to the plant and it will have a difficult time keeping itself wet without those roots. By cutting them back, you will reduce the need for water and give the plant some time to reestablish a root system. Make sure the soil is kept damp (not soaked) and be patient. You shouldn't expect flowers shortly after replanting as they consume a lot of resources the plant needs to survive.

Reaction score
Don't give up yet desi0619 there is hope for your roses:)

Roses are much tougher than many people think and because of that often survive the hardest of treatments and although the best time to move roses is late winter or early spring just as they are coming out of dormancy - they can in fact survive being moved at any time.