Cuttings from jade plant Crassula ovata – transfer from water to soil

Low Altitude

Low Altitude
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b but houseplants only - apartment
Country
United States
A few weeks ago, I inherited a small jade plant Crassula ovate house plant whose previous owner had, er, neglected it a bit, after buying it for $4.99 from a supermarket. I suspect it had not seen water in weeks and maybe a couple of months. It was in sorry-looking fragments: dried stumps, a few stems and a handful of leaves. I did some internet research and on that basis made two types of cuttings: I re-planted the stems and put the 'orphan' leaves flat on moist medium.

It was a complete failure: within about three days, the stems broke off at the soil surface or at a low node. The leaves shriveled to dust. Darn.

In desperation – the few succulents I've had over the years have been resilient and low-maintenance so I've no real experience with 'rescue' or propagation – I did what I would do with normal 'temperate' plants: I put the stem fragments in water and shoved the leaves petiole-down into some soil. It did not look hopeful. Whatever happened to the poor thing in its last home, the leaves had become 'scaly' (see pics attached) and i feared that there would be nothing I could do to revive the fragments – that basically, it was already dead.

But bugger me: after a week, all the bits in water have struck tiny roots, some from the ends I cut fresh; some laterally from nodes below the waterline. AND the two stems that hadn't immediately died in the soil when I first got it, now seem to be surviving, if not exactly thriving.

So question: now what do i do? the jade plant seems to work really slowly: it took a long time to (nearly) die and it's taking a long time to revive. Despite the roots, i see no sign that the leaves are plumping up or the scaliness going, and there's certainly no new growth visible apart from the roots.