Crown of Thorns

Reaction score
Help! The leaves of my crown of thorns plants are turning yellow and are falling off. Is this typical for the winter season? I have just started growing these after receiving two plants from a friend who is helping me landscape my new home. They were thriving when I first received them and everyone who saw them did not suspect that I was a novice gardner.

Reaction score
Although it would help to know whether you are growing your Crown of Thorns plants indoors or outdoors - as well as what type of climate you have - I can very definitely say that no - it is not normal for the leaves of these plants to turn yellow and fall off - but not to worry as the reason for this happening is generally only one of two things and both are easily rectifiable.

" Euphorbia Milii " or Crown of Thorns are in general very easy to grow - however even though they are considered to be one of the toughest plants around as they can withstand all kinds of extreme conditions - that doesn't mean that they will always look there best when experiencing those extremes.

As although these are technically a succulent plant - they actually prefer slightly more tropical growing conditions - meaning that although they can withstand long hours of intense sunlight - they actually prefer some light afternoon shade - as well as - very well drained gritty loam based moisture retentive soil - which during the growing season needs to be kept very slightly moist - but saying that - although they are fairly flexible in terms of water requirements - they are at their best if the surface soil is allowed to dry out between waterings and are best kept on the dry side during the winter months - while the plant is dormant.