Compost tea

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Has anyone ever used compost tea? I read somewhere that it is good to have a large container and to put a goldfish in to keep the mosquitoes under control. I know you can make liquid fertilizer from food scraps, but compost tea seems like a good idea for feeding plants and keeping them healthy.

Reaction score
Hey! I've never used it before, but I have heard of it, that and manure tea. Interesting stuff. I can't say anything about how to use, but I can say if you do it right you'll like the effects. Our soil has become so depleted and abused, we need to do everything possible to replenish it. I know some small-time farmers swear by it. I also know when making the tea, it can go wrong. Something about if it smells good, then it's good. If it smells revolting then it's gone anaerobic and needs to be thrown away.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Hmmmm, hadn't read anything about smell being an issue, but I guess if you use manure you would have to expect that as a possibility. Then again standing water can get stinky after a long time so I guess you have to watch out for bacteria and algae. There certainly is a lot to learn with this stuff! Thanks for responding!

Reaction score
Has anyone ever used compost tea? I read somewhere that it is good to have a large container and to put a goldfish in to keep the mosquitoes under control. I know you can make liquid fertilizer from food scraps, but compost tea seems like a good idea for feeding plants and keeping them healthy.
Compost tea makes excellent fertilizer . There is a version produced from worm farming .

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Compost tea makes excellent fertilizer . There is a version produced from worm farming .