Cold damage

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Not a lot of nana keepers on here so I though maybe this would be of interest to some. This is my banana garden a few days after a freak freeze. We were below freezing for about 4 hours that night, pretty rare in these parts. All of these are pretty cold hardy varieties and can manage short stints below freezing and have proven no damage at less than about 2hrs below freezing.

Despite the appearance, these should recover just fine, although it will slow the time of fruiting. One plant is already fruiting and now about 2 weeks after the cold I still have viable fruit on the plant. It will take a while to ripen this time of year, but I have a good chance of getting something edible from it, despite the fact that out has no leaves left and will not regrow any.

Bananas are somewhat fickle, but very hardy so long as the corm does not freeze (ground temp was 54 minimum). This is my first year growing bananas and these were put in the ground in March of this year. Its a fascinating plant to grow and I highly recomend trying it if you have the climate.

20171217_153638.jpg
20171217_154054.jpg
20171217_154026.jpg
20171217_153653.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
The small bananas that come from this type of trees are far superior to the tasteless store bought monsters you get today. I loved to let them get so ripe that they were just days away from turning brown. That is when they are the most flavorful and sweetest. The tree in the center of the second picture looks like a Travelers Palm more than a banana.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States