Charisma

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
So I picked up an orange charisma. Does anyone have any experience growing one of these? I have a pot that is 2&1/2ft deep and the diameter across is about 2ft and I'm wanting to know if I can grow it in the pot. If I can't I'll put it in the ground but then I have to choose between an area with terrible soil that is blocked off from the dogs or a planter with great soil that the dogs love to dig in and there is 60-70% chance they'll chew it up or dig it up. I have no experience with growing roses in pots besides one my mom gave me that died because she put it in the pot with reg dirt and not potting soil, lol.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
It would probably do better in the garden. In the Deep South they plant an old shoe under their roses to hold the fertilizer under the roots, because of the clay content of their soil. It also works for any area that has poor soil.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United Kingdom
..............Lol I Recon The Dogs Would Love Digging for old Shoes :eek::D(Never Heard of that Practice:))............Rose Do Best In Ground But Can Also Be Grown in a Pot. Its Best to uses A Quite Deep Pot And Generally Go as Large as Possible. A little Bone Meal when planting is always recommended when planting And some General Feed. If planting in a pot Feeding Is much more Important as the roots can only feed off what is in the pot. You Will also Need to water Regularly when potted......... In General all Potted plants Require High maintenance & Become Vary Dependant on you

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
It would probably do better in the garden. In the Deep South they plant an old shoe under their roses to hold the fertilizer under the roots, because of the clay content of their soil. It also works for any area that has poor soil.