Carrots anyone?

Reaction score
Hello! This year I attempted to plant my first batch of carrots and although they were pretty nice, they were not what I was expecting. They turned out really small, and with a weird green core. I'm not sure if these results had anything to do with the fact that the seeds were non-GMO. I figure I probably did not give them enough room to grow..

Has anyone else planted carrots before? Whether GMO or non-GMO, any help would be appreciated :)

Reaction score
Hi! I haven't planted carrots before. But I have read somewhere that carrots develop green cores from being exposed to sunlight while they are growing. Did the green part taste bitter or off?

Your soil could be the problem. Carrots expand as they grow and they need softer soil to do so. But I could be wrong. I am no expert. :)

On a side note, organic carrots can look really different than the typical non-organic carrots we buy in grocery stores. I know I'm used to bright orange carrots. But if you google "organic carrots" under "Images", you'll see they come in a variety of colors and sizes. Some are really thick and some skinny. I wasn't aware all of this until I watched a video that had a girl holding up organic carrots grown in Canada. They were thick and of a brownish color. They also didn't have that smooth, straight stalk look typical carrots have.

Reaction score
I plan on making a small raised bed for carrots, I know my soil is just a little hard for carrots, so will add a lot of sand and organic matter to my raised beds, hoping that helps my carrot harvest in the future.

Reaction score
Hi! I haven't planted carrots before. But I have read somewhere that carrots develop green cores from being exposed to sunlight while they are growing. Did the green part taste bitter or off?

Your soil could be the problem. Carrots expand as they grow and they need softer soil to do so. But I could be wrong. I am no expert. :)