Can you freeze green bell peppers?

Reaction score
I planted some green bell peppers this year and am hoping for a good crop! Does anyone know if they freeze well in the freezer? I was just wondering if I can wash, chop and put them in freezer bags. I have no experience in canning so the only way I can preserve fresh vegetables is the freezer.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I planted some green bell peppers this year and am hoping for a good crop! Does anyone know if they freeze well in the freezer? I was just wondering if I can wash, chop and put them in freezer bags. I have no experience in canning so the only way I can preserve fresh vegetables is the freezer.
They freeze really well but only if you are going to cook with them. They get a little soft after freezing. Freeze them first on a cookie sheet and then put them in a freezer bag. That way they will not stick together and you can just grab ever how many you need without thawing out the entire bag.

Reaction score
They freeze really well but only if you are going to cook with them. They get a little soft after freezing. Freeze them first on a cookie sheet and then put them in a freezer bag. That way they will not stick together and you can just grab ever how many you need without thawing out the entire bag.

This is exactly right!

You can actually find frozen pepper slices in the freezer department at your local grocery store, which is how I discovered that they can be frozen. Don't expect them to be great for eating raw, of course, but they're perfect for stirfrys, fajitas, etc. I love keeping sliced and diced peppers in the freezer for easy go-to meal prep instead of having to cut them individually every time.

Reaction score
That's great! Thanks for the advice. I didn't think they would be so good raw but as long as I can use them for spaghetti sauce, soups and fajitas, I will be a happy camper! I am hoping to have enough peppers this year to stock a lot in the freezer.