Can I plant anything now and still have a good result?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi All,

My wife and I have been gardening for about 5 years now, and this year with our new baby and other family issues we weren't able to plant a garden. We live in northeast Ohio and have a really nice established space we use as our garden, so it's hard looking at that empty space. Things have settled down, so I'm wondering if anyone would have suggestions on what we could plant and still have decent success. It's Ohio weather, so the first frost should come in late October. I'm afraid it's too late, but thought I'd ask some more experienced gardeners.

Thanks for any help!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hi All,

My wife and I have been gardening for about 5 years now, and this year with our new baby and other family issues we weren't able to plant a garden. We live in northeast Ohio and have a really nice established space we use as our garden, so it's hard looking at that empty space. Things have settled down, so I'm wondering if anyone would have suggestions on what we could plant and still have decent success. It's Ohio weather, so the first frost should come in late October. I'm afraid it's too late, but thought I'd ask some more experienced gardeners.

Thanks for any help!
So about 90 days till frost. You can probably be successful with bush beans and blackeyed peas, maybe chard. When it cools off a little early lettuce will work until a hard freeze. Still time for a fair crop of squash too and also radishes when it starts to cool

Last edited:
Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey Chuck! Thanks for the ideas. We love squash and have had good success that it in the past. I've never grown beans, peas, chard or radishes, but we love to eat all of those things. I like these ideas. I will go pick up the seeds and get them in this week.

zigs

Cactus Grower, Kent.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom