Bush goliath from store turning yellow

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 8b : 15 to 20 (F)
Country
United States
Hello!

A couple weeks ago I purchased a "Bush Goliath" plant from my local grocery store and brought it home. It's in a 9" tall pot with an 11" diameter, and the plant itself is a little over 2ft tall above the soil. This is my first try ever at growing something edible, and I figured a tall tomato plant that's already [ostensibly] established would be better. I live in Austin, TX, and my balcony gets a lot of light for most of the day--full sun from about 2-5pm.

My biggest issue with all the plants I've ever tried to grow is figuring out the sweet spot for watering. So often it seems like the symptoms of under and overwatering are the same, so I also bought a hydrometer lol. The tomatoes have been hovering between "dry" and the lower levels of "moist" for most of the time I've had them. I'm not sure what's going on though--the leaves are turning yellow and then brown and falling apart between the veins.

I bought some 5 gallon cloth grow baskets that I'm wondering if they might be better off in? I can't afford a large pot ATM.

Any and all insight/advice is welcome!! Thanks a ton :)

Attachments

• tomatoes 1.jpeg
    tomatoes 1.jpeg
    212 KB · Views: 86
  • tomatoes 3.jpeg
    tomatoes 3.jpeg
    292.2 KB · Views: 87
  • tomatoes 2.jpeg
    tomatoes 2.jpeg
    212.4 KB · Views: 110
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello!

A couple weeks ago I purchased a "Bush Goliath" plant from my local grocery store and brought it home. It's in a 9" tall pot with an 11" diameter, and the plant itself is a little over 2ft tall above the soil. This is my first try ever at growing something edible, and I figured a tall tomato plant that's already [ostensibly] established would be better. I live in Austin, TX, and my balcony gets a lot of light for most of the day--full sun from about 2-5pm.