Bonsai anyone?

Reaction score
Have you tried your hand at bonsai.. I have grown a couple of saplings which I need to convert to bonsai style.. My plants seem to show no real growth.. Can you give me some tips.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
I love bonsai trees! I think they are so elegant. I have never tried my hand at one before, but it is definitely on my list.

What kind of saplings are you trying to convert? If they are not miniatures and aren't seeing much growth it could be that they aren't getting enough light or need to be fed.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
Poland
I've tried to grow a few but I didn't enjoy it. I'm just not patient enough to grow them. You have to wait for so long to see some results. Also, although I like how they look, I always have a feeling that they're unhappy - I know, I'm too emotional about plants:p - but I really prefer when my plants grow like they want, without too many interventions.

Jed

Reaction score
I find bonsai intriguing though I haven't tried doing it. Living with so many plants around me is a joy but I think if I lived in a confine space or could not get outside to garden then I would definitely give it a go.

Reaction score
@ Chanell, I have pomegranates and lemon.. I also have a banyan tree sapling... I have them in normal pots and have let them grow to about 20 cms. Now, I need to train them and I don't know much.
@ Claudine these are plants that I saved from my friends garden.. she was going to throw them away... I brought them hope and let them grow.. I would love to see little lemons and pomegranates on the little trees.
@ jed, That is how I live, on the second floor of a high rise building.. LOL .. My dream of trees can only be miniatures and bonsai's..

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States