Blueberry Bush Help

Reaction score
Country
Czech Republic
Hello All:

I recently planted two new blueberry bushes and I'm having trouble figuring out what is going wrong with them.

I have added acidic help (soil additive) to the planting soil along with mulch to keep the moisture around the plant, but they don't appear to be happy.

I have attached some photos so you can see what I'm dealing with. I'm am located in central Europe and we are in spring conditions with overnight temps of 50F (10C)

I appreciate all the help as I am new to the blueberry bush clan.

Cheers

Attachments

• Blueberry1.jpg
    Blueberry1.jpg
    209.8 KB · Views: 140
  • Blueberry2.jpg
    Blueberry2.jpg
    344.5 KB · Views: 158
  • Blueberry3.jpg
    Blueberry3.jpg
    136.5 KB · Views: 139
  • Blueberry4.jpg
    Blueberry4.jpg
    269 KB · Views: 117
Reaction score
Country
United States
Blueberries have to have an acidic soil so the nutrients will be available to the plant. The pH should be between 4.5 to 5.6 for at least a couple or 3 years for blueberries to grow and stay healthy. Just pouring something on the soil may give you a acidic state for a while, but not for 3 years. To grow blueberries you need to test the pH of the soil and if its alkaline you need to change the soil out with a acidic mix. For Azaleas and Rhododendrons, I would dig up the soil and replace it with a 50-50 mix of peat moss and ground up or shredded pine bark with a couple hands full of Osmocote time re-lease fertilizer. That would last about 3 or 4 years and I would have to repeat by pulling up the plants and rebedding with a acidic mix.

Reaction score
Country
United States