Better Boy Tomato Plants

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Well this is my first time using Better Boy's. They are holding up pretty well despite the torrential rainfall and now the heat they are dealing with. I have been pruning the suckers off of them since I first planted them in the garden. It's producing some excellent size tomatos. Much larger than my beefsteaks last year thank god..however, I read online that you dont need to prune the suckers off the plant since its indeterminate and it can actually cause the plant to go into shock and die. Does anyone else prune their better boys or should I stop while Im ahead?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Well this is my first time using Better Boy's. They are holding up pretty well despite the torrential rainfall and now the heat they are dealing with. I have been pruning the suckers off of them since I first planted them in the garden. It's producing some excellent size tomatos. Much larger than my beefsteaks last year thank god..however, I read online that you dont need to prune the suckers off the plant since its indeterminate and it can actually cause the plant to go into shock and die. Does anyone else prune their better boys or should I stop while Im ahead?
If it works don't fix it. Here in Texas with our intense sunlight it is not recommended to prune anything except at the very bottom of the plant in order to improve air circulation and help reduce effects of Early Blight. Be sure to heavily mulch all around the base of the plant in order to keep the soil off of the leaves during heavy rain, keep the soil cooler and reduce watering

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States