Best place for newbie to start.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10b
Country
United States
Hi, I just wanted to know if there are any resources for a total noob who is new to gardening to learn the basics. Easiest things to start with, equipment and some other basic knowledge. Thanks in advance.

Reaction score
Country
Kenya
I wish you state the kind of climate you come from. If you come from a tropical of Mediterranean type of climate, you should not have problems growing a wide variety of herbs. I would suggest that you start with short season herbs like coriander and then branch to hardy perennials simultaneously. The first round of growth should give you enough experience.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10b
Country
United States
Thanks for the great advice. Coriander is one of the herbs on my list. I'm sure I'll be able to grow that without any big problems. When you say branch out to hardy perennials, what does that mean exactly?

MaryMary

Quite Contrary
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
... resources for a total noob who is new to gardening to learn the basics. Easiest things to start with, equipment and some other basic knowledge...
If you're looking for a good book, I highly recommend Rodale's Illustrated Encyclopedia of Gardening and Landscaping Techniques. It is divided into seven parts, which are:
The Basics, Flowers, The Food Garden, Lawns and Groundcovers, Trees and Shrubs, Houseplants and Container Gardens, and Tools.
I love this book. :love:

I also would recommend updating your profile with at least your hardiness zone, maybe even the state you are in. Mainly because these things affect everything from when you can plant things to what pests are in your area. If you do not know it, here is a link, very user friendly, just type in your zip code, or find your area on the map.
http://planthardiness.ars.usda.gov/PHZMWeb/Default.aspx

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States