Beginner Gardener

Reaction score
What are the most important things to consider in growing plants for a beginner gardener?

Reaction score
Country
Philippines
I’m a beginner. Don’t know much about plants except that they are to be respected and they are very pretty. My mom has a garden full of tropical plants. She told me cactus are good for beginners because they don’t require much time and attention, I think they are good for those who have a busy schedule or travellers too.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
What are the most important things to consider in growing plants for a beginner gardener?
I think one of the most important things for a beginner is for him/her have a knowledge of how plants grow, what they need. Just planting a seed in the ground does not make one a gardener. A real gardener understands the relationship between the soil, the climate and the characteristics of whatever it is you want to plant

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States
Plant only what you like to look at (flowers) and eat (vegetables.)
Start small and expand. Most novice gardeners quit because they start out big, and so do the weeds, bugs, and problems!
Get your soil tested. No need to add fertilizers or amendments until you know what is needed.
Enjoy your garden--there will be failures and set-backs, but there will also be great successes and happiness from knowing you can grow a garden!

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm watching this thread because I'm quite new as well and always eager for some tips :). So far I've gotten a lot of advice to start off small, with low maintenance plants and then work on expanding what you are comfortable working with....sounds like fair advice to me.

Reaction score
Take care of the soil. Make sure you get good compost and mulch to build it up naturally. Take the time to work the soil so it is not too hard for the roots of your plants to grow into it.

Reaction score