Beefsteak tomatoes

Reaction score
Country
United States
Nice to meet you all. Any special advice on how to grow Beefsteak tomatoes? Something went wrong, and as far as I'm not experienced enough can't figure out why tomatoes grew smaller than expected, and not as much, as I thought it should be. I tested the soil, and it seems to be fine, and I have no idea what may be the reason. I am from Florida, planted in March, but it did not work out. Should have asked earlier
P.S. I'd also appreciate someone who owns chickens to explain to me what. I guess, chicken coop for ten chickens, feeder, nutrients. I mean, I saw a couple of guides but the are redirecting to like 10 more articles.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
Its been a cool year generally. Tomato likes a warmer climate than we had here this spring in mid Alabama. By chance were they curly on top and did you use black kow composted manure?

Meadowlark

No N-P-K Required
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
old zone 8b/new zone 9a
Country
United States
Welcome Lloyd. Any pictures of your tomatoes? Pictures might help with some analysis.

Also, are you asking about the cost or what for ten chickens? Sorry, didn't understand. I've found the best chicken coops for relatively small numbers of chickens are those you build yourself....cheaper and better. Again, welcome.

alp

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom
Did you plant them deep enough? If you plant the the seedling up to the first set of leaves, roots will develop and the plants might become stronger. What is your feeding regime please? Tomatoes are hungry plants.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United Kingdom
If you plant your roots deeper, all you do is waste the growing season whilst your plants develop a second set of roots to compensate for the first ones you've just buried.
Tomatoes would have the means of growing roots all along the tap root if it was of any benefit whatsoever.