Basil alive but not growing

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all, total newbie here. Not much of a gardener either.

I have a basil plant that seems very much alive and healthy, but it's not actually growing any leaves. It's just kind of staying where it's at. The stems(?) are upright and seem healthy. It's getting a decent amount of sunshine everyday, some days are cooler and I keep it inside, some sunny warm days I put it outside in the sun. But the leaves aren't growing at all. What might be happening here? Thanks for any help.

alp

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom
Not an expert on Basil or anything and not a proper gardener either, @marlingardener may offer up better explanation. I think Basil or coriander is monocarpic. The flower and then die. Parsley on the other hand is perennial and will grow year after year.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United Kingdom
So your basil is in a pot, right?
Pots can very quickly run out of nutrients, so, if you haven't fed it for some time, I'd advocate an organic feed, like 10% urine in water, nettle/comfrey/manure tea.

Reaction score
Country
Germany
This is strange given that basil normally grows like wildfire, in the right conditions I suppose. Photos would help.

I assume you grow your basil to eat. Silly question perhaps, but how do you harvest your basil? I see many people simply plucking the leaves off their plant, leaving stems with no leaves on it! The best thing to do is cut the entire stem / section off when you want to eat the plant. Your basil will thank you and grow back twice as strong :) If this is your case, then I wouldn't be afraid to cut the plant right back and let it start fresh.