Banana tree plant

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello,
I'm a novice at growing plants. I just recently received a banana plant. It's been indoors and I intend on keeping it that way.
Problem: I have discovered some tiny white bugs on and I'm sure in the soil. Does anyone have an idea of what they may be?
I dont have a picture because they're almost invisible to the eye so I don't think it'll show on camera.
Also, how would I repot it and what soil should I use.
Any help is appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi! It sounds like you might have a mealy bug problem. Do they happen to look something like this?
mealybug-damage.jpg

Reaction score
Country
United States
No. They're definitely not fuzzy. After doing more research, I really think they're springtails. It did come from a local garden and is made of compost and mulch. I've read that springtails can be beneficial so im not sure if I should get rid of them or repot.

I will try to take a picture of it today for clarity.

Reaction score
Country
United States
I would really love to grow some plants indoors.
Any suggestions for a few indoor floor and hanging plants with easy maintenance and little sunlight?
Definitely pothos! They grow beautifully and is a trailing plant. Spider plants make nice hanging baskets and they have babies like crazy!

Reaction score
Country
United States
Definitely pothos! They grow beautifully and is a trailing plant. Spider plants make nice hanging baskets and they have babies like crazy!
Thanks for the great advice!
I've attached a photo of the bugs. Can you confirm what it is?

Attachments

• 20210826_122749.jpg
    20210826_122749.jpg
    185.2 KB · Views: 29
Reaction score
Country
United States
Here they are clustered together.

Thanks for the great advice!
I've attached a photo of the bugs. Can you confirm what it is?