Aspen tree root problem

Reaction score
Country
United States
There are 4 aspen trees in my front yard connected together over a radius of about 10 feet. They have roots and suckers that go all over my yard, under my garage, and into the backyard. I have been diligent about cutting the suckers whenever they pop up. But I am concerned that the roots will interfere with my plumbing. I would like to cut the "mother" trees down, and then continue to be vigilant about cutting back the suckers whenever they pop up until the tree dies, but I am concerned that cutting the "mother" trees down will only make the roots more aggressively seek water, and thus my plumbing. Any recommendations as to whether I should leave the trees alone or cut them down? Thanks!

Reaction score
Country
United States
Well, I'm not sure and I'm not an expert, so I don't know. But, my neighbor did say that she had to replace her plumbing due to problems with roots. I don't know if it was due to the Aspen roots or some other roots.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
Well let me rephrase the question and possibly pull in a little experience from those that have it to offer? What year was the house built, and where is the house located?

Reaction score
Country
United States
The house was built in 1948. I moved in two years ago and don't know much about when the trees were planted. The house is in Seattle, WA. The trees are about 10 feet from my garage, which is on a concrete slab. I know that the roots have gone under the slab because we dug up the floor last summer to put in new plumbing. So there is brand new plumbing (for a new bathroom; there wasn't any existing before), and there were roots about 1/2 inch in diameter under the concrete. I'll include a couple pictures of the roots that we found, in case that is helpful.

Attachments

• IMG_20180630_144201736.jpg
    IMG_20180630_144201736.jpg
    211.5 KB · Views: 201
  • IMG_20180703_211502352.jpg